Gary Oliver - Closer To You
Gary Oliver - Closer To You
  • Tracklist

    1 He Wants 4:00
    2 Turning It Over 5:03
    3 I Saw The Lord 5:29
    4 I'll Believe In You 4:37
    5 Don't Say It's Over 4:05
    6 Love All The Hurt Away 4:56
    7 Closer To You 4:27
    8 Let's Talk About It 4:28
    9 Come On And Get Ready 4:33
    10 Power 5:01
    11 Only Once In A Lifetime 4:42


    Gary Oliver's Closer to You is a collection of contemporary gospel with positive themes and Oliver's occasionally over-evocative singing. The album's marked by great vocal harmonies, despite the skeletal production and a pronounced lack of songwriting imagination. "Turning It Over" and "I Saw the Lord," two tracks produced by Fred Hammond, couldn't be more different in sound and execution; the former sounds like a piece of early-'80s studio sap, while the latter pumps up the energy with mechanistic percussion, synthesized horns, and a large backing chorus. Though it's clear his heart is in the right place,
    Review by John Bush

Related to Gary Oliver - Closer To You: